Alpine butterflies

The Daisetsuzan Mountain Range provides habitats to all five alpine butterfly species found in Hokkaido: the Eversmann’s Parnassian, the cranberry blue, the Freija fritillary, the Melissa Arctic, and the arran brown. Other than the arran brown, none of these species are found on Japan’s main island of Honshu. The Daisetsuzan Mountain Range is the only place in Japan to be inhabited by the Eversmann’s Parnassian and the Freija fritillary.


Component part

Basic Information

Cultural property name
Alpine butterflies

Furano, Kamifurano, Kamishihoro, Kamikawa, Shikaoi, Shintoku, Higashikawa